Book and Author Benefit


Tickets will be available for purchase in February. Please check back for more information.

About the Event:

The luncheon will take place on Friday, April 26, 2019, at the historic Indiana Roof Ballroom in downtown Indianapolis, with nearly 900 guests. The Christamore House Guild Book and Author Benefit is a highly anticipated and regularly sold out event in Indianapolis showcasing five to six authors and their recently released books. The novelists will share their personal account of their new release and their approach to writing. The authors will be available to sign book purchases.

Proceeds from this event are presented to the Frances Carter Coburn Scholarship Fund, as well as other educational programs at the Christamore House.  The Christamore House Guild has proudly served the Christamore House for more than 100 years. Since 1981, we have raised over $2,000,000 to fund college scholarships for deserving Christamore House youth in the Indianapolis Haughville neighborhood pursuing undergraduate degrees, postgraduate degrees, and vocational training.

Past Notable Authors:

John Grisham, Anna Quindlan, Mary Higgins-Clark, Barbara Taylor Bradford, Sue Grafton, Anita Shreve, David Baldacci, Sue Monk-Kidd, Elizabeth Berg, Meg Waite Clayton, Meg Wolitzer, Ann Hood, Phillip Margolin, Melanie Benjamin, Ayelet Waldman, Jane Green, Marisa de los Santos, Christina Baker Kline, A.J. Finn and Laura Lippman.

How are Authors Selected?

Each year the Author Selection committee works diligently to secure a wide variety of authors and genres that match the criteria for participation at the benefit.

Click Here for more information.

“What a privilege to speak at the Christamore House Book and Author Benefit.  The mission is worthy; the students inspiring; and the entire event perfectly organized and beautifully produced.  I feel lucky to have participated.” – A.J. Finn, New York Times Bestselling Author


“What a spectacular event! Great people, an amazing cause, and every detail was perfectly planned.  We loved every moment of it and are hoping to be asked back again – we’d clear our calendars to go!” – Sarah Pekkanen & Greer Hendricks, New York Times Bestselling Authors


“I had long heard that Christamore is a one-of-a-kind experience for authors and the legend proved to be true . . . It was just exquisite, and I would recommend it to any writer on the road.” – Laura Lippman, New York Times Bestselling Author



Sponsorship Opportunities:

To support the 2019 Book and Author Benefit, please contact:

Gretchen Hueni


Frances Carter Coburn Scholarship

Mrs. Frances Carter Coburn was a Christamore House Guild past president whose efforts were recognized in 1970 with an Outstanding Volunteer Award presented by President Richard Nixon. In her honor, the Christamore House Guild awards annually need-based scholarships to current and incoming college students who live in the Haughville area or have used services at the Christamore House.  The Frances Carter Coburn Scholarship recipients attend a variety of institutions both inside and outside Indiana and are enrolled in a wide range of college degrees and technical programs.  Most of these students would have a difficult, if not impossible, time pursuing higher education without the assistance of our scholarship programs. The 2018 Book and Author Benefit raised over $100,000 to support these scholarship recipients.

For more information about our scholarships, please contact:

Maureen Whiting